The Reprover

A force between you and temptation

Paris, 1984. Gildas is a reprover, a professional hired by his patients to follow them wherever they go and silently condemn their behavior. Called for help by Magali, unable to resist compulsive shopping and French pastries on her own, he starts to fall in love with the young woman, breaking every rule….

A digital graphic novel, an interactive story mixing illustrations, videos, literature, and an amazing 3D map.

Originally published in 2008, The Reprover is now available online, re-made from the original material.

The reprover speaks.

Original video trailers

The Reprovers, who are they?

Conceptual entertainment.

How does it work?

Dive into the eighties.

The narrator.

François Coulon wrote and directed The Reprover, Hélène Moreau painted the illustrations, Marius de Fugulely played the role of the reprover, Sébastien Garnier played the guitar and came up with some ideas, Emmanuelle Monteil created some of the costumes, Hervé Zénouda played and recorded percussion, Sandra Reid translated the texts into English, the Société Civile des Auteurs Multimédia paid some bills.

Reviews & blurbs

A delightful work, very traditional, technically exemplary… [Coulon’s] collaboration obviously is of a quality that we rarely see in new media.

Full audi review

Claudia Cragg

It is considerably more coherent and satisfying than most literary hypertexts I have encountered before… The Reprover has superb production values…

Emily Short

As a multimedia extravaganza it’s excellent — it’s an elegant combination of modelling, text, graphics, video, and sound in an interactive and original way.

Dan Shiovitz

IF Stuff

I was very impressed by its scope and complexity, and by its innovative use of mixed media. It is an ambitious project with some subtle humor and some truly avant-garde approaches toward digital fiction.

Alan Bigelow

A nonlinear French polyhedral parable of secular morality… A curious tale told with some style… Anyone interested in digital fiction and the graphic novel will find this rather refreshing in its abandonment of the conventions of graphic novel stories.

Jim Andrews

A great project, a time-sucking one, a story with so many playlike options that you can find yourself suddenly killing an entire afternoon with it.

Jason Pettus

Chicago Center for Literature and Photography

One of the most accomplished and approachable works of hyperliterature to have been produced to date.

Edward Picot

The Hyperliterature Exchange

It might not quite qualify as a game, but whatever it is, [The Reprover] stands at the edge of game-ness, and offers us an intriguing and novel example of how interactive story can be done.

Play This Thing

The Reprover is an innovative and creative work! [You] had great sensibility in dealing with the nuances of several human temptations and inner conflicts, which makes us think and reflect about the borders between rules, ethics and freedom. The mix of illustration and footage in a hypertextual way supported by the 3D navigation tool provide an exciting language to explore. It is a really worthy experience.

Martha Gabriel

This is a great project!… This kind of fiction brings a change in the reading experience. I also like the fact that there’s almost no need for explanation: I perfectly know what to do, where to click. I even have fun switching from French to English.

Aya Karpinska

A hugely impressive work of digital fiction… The Reprover is a wonderful creation.

Chris Meade

Institute for the Future of the Book

An excellent example of complementary form and content. It’s also an excellent demonstration of how much multimedia can add to a piece without necessarily undermining the primacy of text.

Sam Kabo Ashwell

IF-Review

What a unique and quirky experience you’ve created! The illustrations, video, text, and music are each well-done and interesting to explore of their own merits, but the way they are combined and linked, the concepts and satire underlying them, and the way each can be interacted with in different ways, makes the experience of playing not just interesting but fun… The Reprover lasts just long enough that this sense of exploration and discovery remains through the whole piece.

Aaron A. Reed

I especially like the great sense of humor that pervades this. The actor/video pieces are delightful, fantastic! I found the navigation to be eccentric but oddly compelling, as I clicked around on the text and visuals. Finally, I’m impressed with the high production values of the whole piece.

Richard Holeton

Stanford University

I love the idea of grabbing a 3D object to jump around in the story – you’ve taken a big leap from the page-turning paradigm.

Benton C Bainbridge

Contact

12 + 8 =

The digital web series

Le Réprobateur

Une force entre vous et la tentation

Paris, 1984. Gildas Noblet est un réprobateur professionnel. Il accompagne ses patients partout où ils vont et réprouve en silence leurs faiblesses et leurs tentations.

C’est pour l’aider à résister aux pâtisseries et aux achats compulsifs que Magali sollicite Gildas. Il tombera bientôt amoureux de la jeune femme, à l’encontre de toutes les règles déontologiques…

Un roman graphique en ligne, une histoire interactive. Un cocktail d’illustrations, de textes et de vidéos, servis sur un étonnant plan en trois dimensions.

Publié à l’origine en 2008, Le Réprobateur est désormais jouable en ligne dans une version reprogrammée à partir des éléments originaux.

Le réprobateur vous parle.

Bandes-annonces originales

Les réprobateurs, qui sont-ils?

Un divertissement conceptuel.

Le fonctionnement.

Plongez dans les années quatre-vingt.

Le narrateur.

François Coulon a écrit et réalisé Le Réprobateur, Hélène Moreau a peint les illustrations, Marius de Fugulely a joué le rôle du réprobateur, Sébastien Garnier a joué de la guitare et cédé quelques idées, Emmanuelle Monteil a conçu certains costumes, Hervé Zénouda a joué et enregistré des percussions, Sandra Reid a adapté les textes en anglais, la Société civile des auteurs multimédia a réglé quelques factures.

Réception critique

Une œuvre irrésistible, très traditionnelle, techniquement exemplaire. Les collaborateurs de [François Coulon] sont d’un niveau rarement atteint dans les nouveaux média.

Critique complète (en anglais)

Claudia Cragg

Il y a plus de cohérence et de plaisir que dans la plupart des hypertextes littéraires que j’ai pu voir auparavant… Le Réprobateur est superbement produit…

Emily Short

En tant que feu d’artifice multimédia, c’est excellent – c’est une combinaison élégante de 3D, de textes, de graphiques, de vidéos et de son faite de façon interactive et originale.

Dan Shiovitz

IF Stuff

J’ai été vraiment étonné par son ampleur et sa complexité, par son utilisation novatrice du multimédia. C’est un projet ambitieux, d’un humour subtil, à l’avant-garde de la fiction numérique.

Alan Bigelow

Une parabole française, polyèdrale et non-linéaire sur la morale laïque… Une étrange histoire racontée avec style… Tous ceux que la fiction numérique et la BD intéressent seront agréablement surpris par les distances prises ici vis-à-vis des conventions du roman graphique.

Jim Andrews

Un projet formidable, devant lequel vous ne verrez pas le temps filer, une histoire avec tellement de possibilités ludiques que vous pouvez passer tout l’après-midi dessus sans même vous en rendre compte.

Jason Pettus

Chicago Center for Literature and Photography

Un des travaux d’hyper-littérature les plus aboutis et les plus accessibles produits jusqu’à présent.

Edward Picot

The Hyperliterature Exchange

Ce n’est peut-être pas exactement un jeu, mais, quoi qu’il soit, [Le Réprobateur] est aux limites du ludique et nous offre un exemple innovant et intriguant de ce que peut être une histoire interactive.

Play This Thing

Le Réprobateur est une œuvre innovante et créative! [Vous] avez fait preuve de beaucoup de sensibilité dans le traitement des tentations humaines et des conflits internes – ce qui nous fait réfléchir sur les frontières entre les règles, l’éthique et la liberté. Le mélange des illustrations, des vidéos, de l’hypertexte, le tout géré par un outil de navigation en 3D, crée un langage passionnant à explorer. C’est un travail vraiment remarquable.

Martha Gabriel

C’est bien, ce projet !… Ce genre de fiction apporte un changement dans l’expérience de la lecture. J’aime aussi le fait qu’il n’y ait presque pas besoin d’explication : je sais très bien quoi faire, où il faut cliquer. Je m’amuse même à passer du français à l’anglais.

Aya Karpinska

Une œuvre de fiction numérique absolument étonnante. Le Réprobateur est une merveilleuse création.

Chris Meade

Institute for the Future of the Book

Un exemple parfait de complémentarité entre la forme et le fond. C’est également une excellente démonstration de ce que le multimédia peut apporter à une œuvre sans forcément diminuer le rôle du texte.

Sam Kabo Ashwell

IF-Review

Quelle œuvre étrange et remarquable vous avez créé là ! Les illustrations, les vidéos, les textes et les musiques sont tous bien réalisés et intéressants à explorer en tant que tels, mais c’est la façon dont ils sont liés et combinés, le concept et l’esprit satirique qui les sous-tend, la manière dont ils interagissent qui rendent l’expérience du jeu non seulement attrayante mais aussi vraiment amusante… Le Réprobateur est juste assez long pour que ce sens de l’exploration et de la découverte reste intact du début à la fin.

Aaron A. Reed

J’aime particulièrement le sens de l’humour qui s’en dégage. L’acteur et les vidéos sont irrésistibles, fantastiques ! En cliquant sur le texte et les images, j’ai trouvé la navigation surprenante mais bizarrement très stimulante. Pour finir, je suis impressionné par la qualité technique de l’ensemble.

Richard Holeton

Stanford University

J’adore l’idée de prendre un objet en 3D pour sauter d’un emplacement à l’autre de l’histoire – par rapport au modèle des pages qui se tournent, vous avez fait un grand pas en avant.

Benton C Bainbridge

Contact

14 + 8 =